Live from the West Coast, it’s the GRAMMYs!

February 09, 2016 - By: Sarah Hovis

 The
GRAMMYs® have always delivered
memorable moments, and this year’s telecast will continue that tradition by going
live on both coasts for the first time ever! Other major award shows including the
Oscars®,
the Emmys, and
the Golden Globes went bicoastal years ago, so why is the 58th GRAMMYs making the switch now? There are two main reasons:
FOMO – That stands for
‘fear of missing out.’ These days viewers aren’t just watching television shows, they’re
actively participating online during the show via social media. For example, during NBC's Jan. 11 Golden Globes three-hour telecast, there were
over 4 million comments on Twitter and the West Coast is tired of the inevitable East Coast spoilers regarding performances, upsets, and other
‘OMG!’ moments.
Ratings – Up until now, CBS didn’t want to mess with a good thing, but in 2015 the
show’s ratings hit a six-year low, so as
part of a one-year experiment, the network is giving its Pacific and Mountain time zone stations the option of carrying the Monday, February 15 GRAMMYs live. While it’s not mandatory for stations to participate, it seems likely that most will. The thought process is simple: if the West Coast numbers are down, CBS will probably go back to the previous format. Other factors that could work in their favor is the fact the GRAMMYs are being held on a Monday instead of Sunday to avoid airing on Valentine’s Day. Airing on Monday also means avoiding the the
NBA All-Star Game and the midseason premiere of
AMC’s “The Walking Dead” (because we still don't know
Glenn’s fate!). Now everyone can ‘Witness Greatness’ starting at 5 p.m. PT, 6 p.m. MT, 7 p.m. CT, and of course, 8 p.m. ET. Tell us in the comments if you’ll be tuning into the GRAMMYs. Photo via:
NJ.com